Nominations open for the Alan Ball Award 2019

Nominations are now open for the Alan Ball Award 2019 aka Local History Publication of the Year.

The award is open to all heritage and community organisations involved with some aspect of local history, and who have received public funding for the publication. Public funding includes lottery funding, e.g. Heritage Lottery Fund and Awards for All. In addition to local authority libraries, archives, museum and archaeology services, we welcome submissions from small local museums, heritage centres and community history projects. The publication needs to have appeared between July 2018 and June 2019.

We have two categories:

  • Print publication
  • E-publication.

One winner will be picked in each category.

Nominations close on the 30th November. To submit your nominations, please use the forms at the bottom of this page.

Want some inspiration? Read about the 2018 winners and runners up.

Alan Ball Award Winners 2018

We are delighted to announce the winners of the Alan Ball Awards for 2018. The awards recognise excellence in local history publishing. There were some exceptional nominations this year, which the judges found difficult to separate. Congratulations to all winners, runners-up and highly commended entries.

Best print publication

Winner: A Swindon Time Capsule: Working Class Life 1899-1984. Highlights from the Dixon-Attwell Collection held at Swindon Central Library – Swindon Libraries.

More details:

Runner-up: Devon during the First World War – Devon Remembers Heritage Project (South West Heritage Trust)

Highly Commended: Dock Street Memories, Ellesmere Port – Celia Webber ed. Ellesmere Port Local and Family history society, Cheshire West and Chester Council.

Best e-publication

Joint Winner: Poole, the First World War and its Legacy  (Poole Museum)

Joint Winner: Bristol Old Vic Heritage – Archive (Bristol Old Vic Theatre / Amy Spreadbury)

Highly Commended: Clements Hall Local History Group (First World War: Then and Now) –